There are at least three awards given out at ICMMES Conference each year since 2016:

  • The ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientists sporsored by Sugon, a supercomputing company in China;
  • The ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipients sponsored by Beijing Computational Science Research Center, a research establishment in China,

The awards are aiming at supporting young scientists working in the ICMMES' focused areas. The winners are selected by a selection committee appointed by the ICMMES Scientific Committee and the local organizing committee. The awards are to be presented by one of Co-Chairs of the ICMMES scientific committee, and the Chair of the ICMMES local organizing committee, at the end of each ICMMES Conference.



The ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientists

The ICMMES-Sugon Award is given to young scientists (up to 6 years after his/her PhD defense) working in the ICMMES' focused areas, with an emphasis on, but not limited to, HPC related applications. The award includes US$1000 plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference

Award winners

  • 2021 : Victor Ambrus, West University of Timișoara, Romania, "Multicomponent flows on curved geometries".
  • 2020: Absent
  • 2019: Lei Wu, University of  Strathclyde, UK,  "Sound propagation through a rarefied gas: kinetic theory, high-order LBM, and moment equations".
  • 2018: Absent
  • 2017: Absent
  • 2016: Songze Chen, Hua Zhong University of Science and Technology, China. "On gas kinetic schemes and unified gas kinetic schemes for flows in continuum and nonequilibrium regions".


The ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipients

The ICMMES-CSRC Award is given to a young scientist who recently finished his/her PhD (up to 2 years after his/her PhD defense) in one of the ICMMES' focused areas. The award includes US$500 cash plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference. Further details can be found here. The application or nomination should be submitted to awards@icmmes.org by Saturday, April 30, 2022.

Award winners

  • 2021: Yajun Zhu, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China, "Unified gas-kinetic scheme for multiscale flow simluation in all Knudsen number regimes".
  • 2020: Wei Su, University of Edinburgh, UK, "General Synthetic Iterative Scheme for Multiscale Rarefied Gas Flows".
  • 2019: Cheng Peng, Pennsylvania State University, USA, "Applications of the lattice Boltzmann method in studying particle-laden turbulent flows".
  • 2018: Abbas Fakhari, University of Pennsylvania, USA, "PhaseField Modeling of Complex Fluids using Lattice Boltzmann Methods".
  • 2017: Absent
  • 2016: Amin Safi, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland, "GPU implementation and numerical investigation of LB models for multi-component fluids."




The ICMMES Award for the Best GPU-Related Presentation by Students and Post-Docs

The PNY Award for the Best Presentation on GPU Computing and Applications will be given to a student or post-doctoral researcher (up to 2 years after PhD degree). All students and post-doctral researchers who give presentations on GPU computing and applications are qualified to be a winner. The winner will be selected during the ICMMES Conference and will be annouced and presented during the Conference's Closing Ceremory. A selection committee appointed by ICMMES Scientific Committee will be responsible for deciding the winner. The winner will receive a recent NVIDIA high-performance GPU to support his/her research.


Award winners

  • 2016 : Dennis Mierke, Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH), Germany, "Efficient Calculation of Sub-grid Distances for Higher-Order Boundary Conditions".




The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award


The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award is given to the best poster presentation at the ICMMES-2022 conference. All participants who make poster presentations automatically qualify to enter, and the winner will receive 500 CHF in cash.

Previous Award winners

  • 2017: Lucien Vienne, Simon Marié, and Francesco Grasso,  CNAM, France, "Lattice Boltzmann simulation of a multicomponent viscous fingering instability at high Schmidt number"
  • 2016: Yu-Hang Tang, Brown University, USA, "Petascale Dissipative Particle Dynamics of Biomedical Microfluidic Devices"