The 2019 ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientist

Dr. Lei Wu of University of  Strathclyde, UK, received the 2018 ICMMES-CSRC Award for Young Researcher. Congratulations! Lei delivered a talk titled "Sound propagation through a rarefied gas: kinetic theory, high-order LBM, and moment equations".


The 2019 ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipient

Dr. Cheng Peng of Pennsylvania State University received the 2019 ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipient. Congratulations! Cheng delivered a talk titled "Applications of the lattice Boltzmann method in studying particle-laden turbulent flows".


The 2018 ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipient

Dr. Abbas Fakhari of University of Pennsylvania received the 2018 ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipient. Congratulations! Abbas delivered a talk titled "PhaseField Modeling of Complex Fluids using Lattice Boltzmann Methods".


There are at least three awards given out at ICMMES Conference each year since 2016:

  • The ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientists sporsored by Sugon, a supercomputing company in China;
  • The ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipients sponsored by Beijing Computational Science Research Center, a research establishment in China,
  • and (c) The ICMMES-MDPI Award for Best Poster, sponsored by Computation, an open access computational science journal.

The awards are aiming at supporting young scientists working in the ICMMES' focused areas. The winners are selected by a selection committee appointed by the ICMMES Scientific Committee and the local organizing committee. The awards were given by one of Co-Chairs of the ICMMES scientific committee, and the Chair of the ICMMES local organizing committee, at the end of each ICMMES Conference.

This year (2017), the ICMMES-MDPI Award for Best Poster was given to Lucien Vienne, Simon Marié, and Francesco Grasso, from Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers, Laboratoire DynFluid, France, for their poster "Lattice Boltzmann simulation of a multicomponent viscous fingering instability at high Schmidt number".

The other two awards, the ICMMS-Sugon Award and the ICMMES-CSRC Award, were not given in 2017.



The ICMMES-Sugon Award for Young Scientists

The ICMMES-Sugon Award is given to young scientists (up to 6 years after his/her PhD defense) working in the ICMMES' focused areas, with an emphasis on, but not limited to, HPC related applications. The award includes US$1000 plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference

Award winners


Songze Chen, Hua Zhong University of Science and Technology, China

For his study on gas kinetic schemes and unified gas kinetic schemes for flows in continuum and nonequilibrium regions.




The ICMMES-CSRC Award for Recent PhD Recipients

The ICMMES-CSRC Award is given to a young scientist who recently finished his/her PhD (up to 2 years after his/her PhD defense) in one of the ICMMES' focused areas. The award includes US$500 cash plus a waive of registration fees to attend ICMMES conference. Further details can be found here. The application or nomination should be submitted to awards@icmmes.org by Saturday, April 30, 2016.

Award winners


Amin Safi, Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland

For his work on GPU implementation and numerical investigation of LB models for multi-component fluids.




The ICMMES Award for the Best GPU-Related Presentation by Students and Post-Docs

The PNY Award for the Best Presentation on GPU Computing and Applications will be given to a student or post-doctoral researcher (up to 2 years after PhD degree). All students and post-doctral researchers who give presentations on GPU computing and applications are qualified to be a winner. The winner will be selected during the ICMMES Conference and will be annouced and presented during the Conference's Closing Ceremory. A selection committee appointed by ICMMES Scientific Committee will be responsible for deciding the winner. The winner will receive a recent NVIDIA high-performance GPU to support his/her research.


Award winners


Dennis Mierke, Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH), Germany

For his presentation entitled "Efficient Calculation of Sub-grid Distances for Higher-Order Boundary Conditions".




The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award


The ICMMES-MDPI Best Poster Award is given to the best poster presentation at the ICMMES-2017 conference. All participants who make poster presentations automatically qualify to enter, and the winner will receive 500 CHF in cash.

Previous Award winners


Yu-Hang Tang, Brown University, USA

For his poster entitled "Petascale Dissipative Particle Dynamics of Biomedical Microfluidic Devices"